Reply
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-15-2011

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

Milkerman

 

    An after thought.  I'll look up the software you provided me - kopymac to see what it is about.  I'll google it I guess.

 

Thanks again

 

oki al

 

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 8,152
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

Good news that you have your CDs as backup.

 

What I'm assuming is that, when you ripped your CDs (which initially are in a "generic" audio format, as distinct from computer formats such as MP3, aac, etc.), they got ripped into the format not compatible with the Clip.

 

At this point, your best (although time-consuming) option is to re-rip the CDs into a format compatible with the Clip, such as MP3 or flac.  The next best would be to convert your current files to a Clip-compatible format; however, converting between compressed formats is "frowned upon," because you lose more of the music's data that way. Personally, I use the MP3 format with VBR (variable bit rate).

 

Regardless, it's good to hear that you figured the issue out, and that your attitude is so positive!  Once you set up a system now, you'll be set for the future.

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

hi,can someone tell me why when i updated my sansa clip to 02.01.35 it took of the volume adjuster on the settings page?as i now cant even hear the music at full volume.Woman Sad

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 8,152
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

To get it back, choose Reset under the settings and choose N America or Rest of World as the region.  The volume setting then should be back.  Or reapply the firmware and choose similarly. 

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

thanks for that but how do i re apply it?

 

Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-15-2011

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

Milkerman

 

    Yep!  The format that the cd's we're converted to in import was the problem.  I finally figured that out as well.  It was, as you state time consuming.  Nice to know that you were one step behind me with the correct answer.

 

    Unfortunately, my car, unlike my truck does not have an mp3 player so I had to cut a cd for it.  I did have my suspicions however, that it wouldn't be that easy.  I was right.  cutting the cd in mp3 format didn't work.  I had to convert the songs that I wanted to burn on the cd back to the original format that it was initially converted too.  That worked fine.  It was quite noticeable that the files were much much larger in that format.  

 

    Thanks again for hanging in there with me.  Much appreciated.

 

Oki_al

 

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,082
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release


rachel_78 wrote:

hi,can someone tell me why when i updated my sansa clip to 02.01.35 it took of the volume adjuster on the settings page?as i now cant even hear the music at full volume.Woman Sad


This 'sticky' post (at the top of the board shaded gray so everyone and anyone can & should find it and read it) provides not only the reason, but also the workaround. Smiley Wink

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 8,152
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release


rachel_78 wrote:

thanks for that but how do i re apply it?

 


As mentioned above, you simply can Reset the Clip under its settings option.  But to reapply the firmware, just follow the instructions in the firmware upgrade sticky thread at the top of the forum.

Gio
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2011

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

I've just updated my sansa clip to the latest firmware and an important feature I missed is the volume boost that I had available with the originally loaded firmware.

Would it be possible to turn it on somehow or to get the feature back in place?

 

Ciao Gio

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 4,244
Registered: ‎07-18-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Firmware 01.01.35 & 02.01.35 Release

you probably selected Europe as your region. there is EU law limiting the volume level to 100db. go to settings and select reset all. then for region select rest of world. you will now have the high volume setting.