Brand new "Extreme 32gb SD" failure and more

I am a professional photographer and had to do a job on a motorcycle trip abroad, so could not use my normal D800 and heavy pro lenses, so bought a brand new Lumix LX100 and SanDisk card. The camera performed very well and am very please with it. The photographs were part of an article I was writing for a magazine and the dead line was urgent.

Imagine my joy when I plugged the SD card into the PC card reader to find all the file names had turned to nonsense! I took the card to an IT expert and he said he had seen this before with SanDisk products. Using skillful data recovery he saved my work. In my panic I had forgotten to bring a data stick so he sold me a SanDisk one. He copied the rescued files from his PC to the data stick, stuck in it another PC to check and the same corruption happened! He said this is not the first time this has occurred with these data sticks! In the end I plumped for safety and he burned the valuable data to a DVD for me. 

Whilst in his premises another customer reported the self same issue and had been persuaded to buy a data recover package from SanDisk.

As a professional, I need to be able to rely on the equipment I use - I thought SanDisk was a manufacturer of professional products one could reply on. A quick google search tells me I am not alone. Much of the profit from this job has been lost to data recovery, not to mention time and stress levels. I notice from SanDisks lengthy Ts & Cs that they are only willing to be responsible for the hardware itself, not the resultant damage of it’s failure.

Not Happy!

no storage manufacturer warrants the data on the product. only the product it self is covered by the warranty. this goes for any storage product from HDD to tape drives and everything in between.