Extreme 3.0 32GB, seen as local disk not removable, cannot boot from it

Hi there.

I have searched the forums for an up to date solution to my problem, and have become very confused as to how to proceed. Many partial solutions are mentioned, mostly from some time ago. Help would be greatly appreciated.

Problem

I have just purchased a brand new USB Extreme 3.0 32GB. My aim is to install Ubuntu (Mate 15.10) on a laptop (ASUS UL30A, working USB2 port), using Tuxboot (Ubuntu) to write the ISO to this USB drive. All seems to be going well until I try to boot up from the USB. I am no expert, but the issue seems to be that the drive is being recognised as a local disk (I can see it in BIOS), rather than a removable drive, so when I start up the laptop it just boots from the HDD.

I have used other USB drives to do this kind of thing in the past without any problems. Am I being stupid?

As I understand it this was a problem for people a couple of years ago. Various fixes were suggested, among them being that I should just return it and buy another USB drive - if possible, I’d rather get this one working for me. This is a popular product, so I’m sure there is a good solution … I just can’t seem to find it!

I have functioning versions of Win7 and Ubuntu 14.04, and am happy to use the command line to solve the problem. If I haven’t provided enough information, I’d be happy to fill in the blanks.

Thanks in advance,

Al

Not sure what Tuxboot does but I use Easy2Boot to create bootable USB drives.

In that SanDisk hasn’t created a flash drive as Local in about 8 yrs I don’t know what you bought but I don’t see why it would impact your booting if you have the BIOS set to boot USB drives first.